Vote World Rank
Vote India Rank
About A. K. Antony Arackaparambil Kurian Antony (Malayalam: അറക്കപ്പറമ്പില്‍ കുര്യന്‍ ആന്‍‌റ്റണി) (born 28 December 1940) is the current Defence Minister of India, former Chief Minister of Kerala and Congress party working committee member.Chief Minister of Kerala He is a former Chief Minister of Kerala. The first term from April 27, 1977 to October 27, 1978, the second one from March 22, 1995 to May 9, 1996 and the third term from May 17, 2001 to August 29, 2004. When he became Chief Minister in 1977, he was the youngest Chief Minister of the State. He was the Leader of Opposition in Kerala Legislative Assembly during 1996 to 2001. A.K. Antony entered into politics by organising students of Cherthala Taluk (Alleppy District). He came to the public's attention leading the student movements as an activist of Kerala Students Union (KSU). He has been an active leader of many strikes like Oru Ana Samaram (Single Penny Strike). He served as the president of KSU, Youth Congress and Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee before becoming the All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary in 1984. When he became KPCC president he was the youngest person ever to be elevated to that post. He was elected several times to the Congress Working Committee (CWC), of which he's presently a member. He is in charge of Karnataka state affairs of the Congress Party. He is also the youngest Chief minister of Kerala He was a Member of Parliament between 1985 and 1995 and was the Minister for Civil Supplies, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution latter in the tenure of Prime Minister Narasimha Rao. Congress (A) was a political party founded by Antony when he split from the Indian National Congress (Urs) a splinter group of the Indian National Congress. The party was primarily active in Kerala. The party merged with the Congress when Sonia Gandhi took over the leadership of the party. In 2004, amid factional politics and in-fighting within the Congress Party, Antony resigned as the Chief Minister of Kerala. He was succeeded by Oommen Chandy. In 2005, A.K. Antony entered the Rajya Sabha and was inducted into the Union Council of Ministers as Defence Minister following Natwar Singh's expulsion from the Congress and Pranab Mukherjee's tranfer to the Ministry of External Affairs. Antony was also made Core Committee member and inducted into all main party boards and committees. He also serves as incharge of party affairs in Maharashtra. After the Congress again won the elections in 2009 and formed the government once again under Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Antony retained the portfolio of Defence for the second term.

Add a description

Best Supporters

How can you earn points?
1 Vote 1 Point [You must be logged in]
1 Referrer* 10 Points
*Call your friends to become a fan of A. K. Antony with your referrer link and earn 10 points

p: 89

p: 28

p: 16

p: 3

p: 1

A. K. Antony Most Popular Quotes

Add Quote

India Leaders & Politicians Ranking

Show All
Rank Name Total
43. P. T.Velmurugan 403
44. Devineni Venkata 382
45. K. B. Hedgewar 303
46. V. S. Achuthanandan 267
47. A. K. Antony 237
48. Jyoti Basu 219
49. Vijayakanth 205
50. Sebastian Seeman 191
51. Tipu Sultan 167

Leaders & Politicians Ranking

Show All
Rank Name Total
410. Ahmad Zia 242
411. S. Bambang Yudhoyono 240
412. Azra Jafari 240
413. Viktor Yanukovych 238
414. A. K. Antony 237
415. Ben Ali 233
416. Abbas Amir-Entezam 228
417. Nazarbayev 224
418. Mahmoud Abbas 224

A. K. Antony Photos

Today Overall Show All

A. K. Antony Videos

Today Overall Show All