Vote World Rank
Vote Iran Rank
About Akbar Ganji Akbar Ganji (Persian: اکبر گنجی, born 31 January 1960 in Qazvin Province) is an Iranian journalist and writer. He has been described as a "Iran’s preeminent political dissident", and a "wildly popular pro-democracy journalist" who has crossed press censorship "red lines" regularly. A supporter of the Islamic revolution as a youth, he became dissenchanted in the mid-1990s and served time in Tehran's Evin Prison from 2001 to 2006 after publishing a series of stories on the murder of dissident authors known as the Chain Murders of Iran. While in prison he issued a manifesto which established him as the first "prominent dissident, believing Muslim and former revolutionary" to call for a replacement of Iran's theocratic system with "a secular democracy." Having been named honorary citizen of many European cities and awarded distinctions for his writing and civil , Ganji has won several international awards for his work, including the World Association of Newspapers' Golden Pen of Freedom Award , Canadian Journalists for Free Expression's International Press Freedom Award, the Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders, and the John Humphrey Freedom Award.

Best Supporters

How can you earn points?
1 Vote 1 Point [You must be logged in]
1 Referrer* 10 Points
*Call your friends to become a fan of Akbar Ganji with your referrer link and earn 10 points

p: 91

p: 35

p: 31

p: 31

p: 29

p: 27

p: 25

p: 25

p: 2

Akbar Ganji Most Popular Quotes

Add Quote

Akbar Ganji Videos

Today Overall Show All

Akbar Ganji Photos

Today Overall Show All

Iran Journalists Ranking

Rank Person Name Total
8. Saidi Sirjani 8052
8. Emadeddin Baghi 3643
9. Masoud Behnoud 3061
10. Isa Saharkhiz 2651
11. Adel Ferdosipur 2515
12. Akbar Ganji 2512
13. H. Shariatmadari 2489
14. Nikahang Kowsar 446
15. Ahmad Bourghani 262
16. Mohammad Ghouchani 182

Journalists Ranking

Rank Person Name Total
70. Emadeddin Baghi 3643
71. Isa Saharkhiz 2651
72. Soledad OBrien 2610
73. Adel Ferdosipur 2515
74. Cho Ramaswamy 4007
74. Akbar Ganji 2512
76. H. Shariatmadari 2489
77. Hasan Karakaya 2341
78. Ali Bulac 2309