Isaignani Ilayaraja

Vote World Rank
Vote India Rank
About Isaignani Ilayaraja Ilaiyaraaja (Tamil: இளையராஜா, pronounced ɪləjəɹɑːdʒɑː) (born Daniel Rajaiyya on June 2, 1943) is an Indian film composer, singer, lyricist and the first Asian composer to score a symphony for the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. He is a gold medalist from Trinity College of Music, London, and has composed over 4, 500 songs and provided film scores for more than 900 Indian films in various languages in a career spanning more than 30 years. He is usually referred to by the title Isaignani (literally meaning 'a man with great knowledge in music'), or as "The Maestro". He is based in Chennai, the centre of the Tamil film industry (colloquially known as Kollywood).Ilaiyaraaja has been a prominent composer of film music in southern Indian cinema since the late 1970s. His work integrated Tamil folk lyricism and introduced broader Western musical sensibilities into the South Indian musical mainstream. He has thrice won the Indian National Film Award for best film scoring. In the 2000s, he composed a range of non-film music, including religious and devotional songs, an oratorio, and world music. He is married to Jeeva, and the couple's two sons (Karthik Raja and Yuvan Shankar Raja) and daughter (Bhavatharini) are film composers and singers.

Best Supporters

How can you earn points?
1 Vote 1 Point [You must be logged in]
1 Referrer* 10 Points
*Call your friends to become a fan of Isaignani Ilayaraja with your referrer link and earn 10 points

p: 1405

p: 164

p: 99

p: 97

p: 87

p: 79

p: 76

p: 71

p: 47

p: 45

Isaignani Ilayaraja Most Popular Quotes

Add Quote

Isaignani Ilayaraja Videos

Today Overall Show All

Isaignani Ilayaraja Photos

Today Overall Show All

India Musicians Ranking

Rank Person Name Total
3. Hamsalekha 11183
5. Bombay Jayashri 2236
5. AR Rahman 21603
5. Kishore Kumar 16087
6. Isaignani Ilayaraja 15395

Musicians Ranking

Rank Person Name Total
88. Dariush Eghbali 15721
89. Diana Haddad 15896
89. Dima Bilan 13973
89. Adriana Calcanhotto 16000
91. Guilherme Arantes 4932
91. Moein 15460
92. Isaignani Ilayaraja 15395
93. Yanni 1110
93. Haktan Canevi 5026